“Sisters in Song: The Powerful Voice of Sweet Honey in the Rock”

Who is Sweet Honey in the Rock?

Sweet Honey in the Rock is an all-female African American folk group that has been making music for over four decades. The group’s unique blend of gospel, blues, jazz, and African rhythms has earned them a devoted fan base around the world and has influenced countless other performers.

The group was founded in 1973 by Bernice Johnson Reagon, a musicologist and civil rights activist, who wanted to create a musical outlet for black women to express their experiences and perspectives. The original lineup included Ysaye Maria Barnwell, Nitanju Bolade Casel, Aisha Kahlil, and Carol Maillard.

Sweet Honey in the Rock quickly gained a reputation for their powerful live performances, which combined vocal harmonies, intricate percussion, and spoken word poetry. Their music tackled a range of social and political issues, from racism and sexism to environmentalism and economic justice.

Over the years, the group has released over 20 albums and has collaborated with a diverse range of artists, including Harry Belafonte, Pete Seeger, and Maya Angelou. Their music has been featured in films, television shows, and documentaries, and they have received numerous awards and accolades for their contributions to music and activism.

In prayer we trust/ By hope we live/ On truth we stand/ From our hearts we give/ Love. - Sweet Honey in the Rock

Despite several lineup changes over the years, Sweet Honey in the Rock continues to tour and perform, bringing their powerful music and message to audiences around the world. Their enduring legacy is a testament to the power of music to inspire change and to the resilience of the African American community.

In conclusion, Sweet Honey in the Rock is an iconic African American folk group that has had a profound impact on the history of music and activism. Their unique blend of vocal harmonies, percussion, and spoken word poetry has inspired generations of performers and listeners, earning them a place in the hearts of fans around the world. Their music serves as a powerful reminder of the ongoing struggles for social justice and equality, and their legacy will continue to inspire future generations to use music as a tool for change.

Albums by the group include…

  •  Sweet Honey in The Rock  (1976)
  • The Other Side (1985)
  • Feel Something Drawing Me On (1985)
  • Breaths (1988)
  • Sacred Ground (1995)
  • Twenty-Five… (1998)
  • Freedom Song Soundtrack (2000)
  • Still The Same Me (2000)
  • Experience 101 (2007)
  • Go In Grace (2010)
  • A Tribute – Live! Jazz At Lincoln Center (2013)
  • #LoveInEvolution (2016)

Current Members

Louise Robinson
Nitanju Bolade Casel
Aisha Kahlil
Carol Maillard

What's your password?

Login to your account

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.